Hershey’s Black Magic Cake

I haven’t been baking as much as I used to as when I started this blog (not that long ago) because quite frankly we all have crazy sweet-teeth and absolutely no self control. So every time I baked something (which was 2-3 times a week), it was gone within a day. I kid you not! So as fast as the cakes were disappearing, our waistlines were expanding just as fast! Therefore I really had to reel in the baking, which is a huge bummer. So I’m only making something about every 7-10 days and also trying out healthier options as well (I’ve got a killer oatmeal muffin recipe that I will be sharing soon).

So it’s always a treat when someone asks me to bake something for them, because I get the fun part of making it and then let them worry about the calories! lol My husband’s cousin had a dinner party recently and she asked me to bring salad and dessert, and I was all too happy to oblige. My friend Zainab is at Pastry School and she recommended that I try the Black Magic Cake recipe from Hersey’s, because I was looking for a moist chocolate cake recipe. I mostly use the Devil’s Food Cake  recipe as my go-t0  but I wanted to try something new. It’s an easy recipe and the cake has an amazing rich chocolate taste with a very moist yet fluffy texture. I filled the layers and frosted the top with Chocolate Ganache and then made some buttercream roses. Overall it was a huge success and everyone really enjoyed it!

RECIPE:
Serving: Two 9″ cakes or One 9″x13″ cake

Ingredients:
1-3/4 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 cup HERSHEY’S Cocoa
1 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
2 cups sugar
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup buttermilk or sour milk
2 eggs
1 cup strong black coffee OR 2 teaspoons powdered instant coffee plus 1 cup boiling water

Directions:

  1. Heat oven to 350°F. Grease and flour two 9-inch round baking pans or one 13×9-inch baking pan.
  2. Stir together sugar, flour, cocoa, baking soda, baking powder and salt in large bowl. Add eggs, buttermilk, coffee, oil and vanilla; beat on medium speed of mixer 2 minutes (Batter will be thin). Pour batter evenly into prepared pan.
  3. Bake 50 to 55 minutes for fluted tube pan, 30 to 35 minutes for round pans, 35 to 40 minutes for rectangular pan or until wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool 10 minutes. Loosen cake from side of pan and remove from pans to wire racks. Cool completely. Frost as desired.

Source: Hersheys

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Thanks for the follow. I have the best recipe for chocolate chip meringue cookies!

    Like

Leave a Reply

