Chocolate Pudding Cake

I’m a real sucker for a good lava cake, it’s something I’m always looking out for on a restaurant menu! I’ve been working on a mug cake recipe which I haven’t quite mastered yet because it always ends up too caky and not gooey enough. Hopefully I’ll be able to share that soon once I figure it out. But I was so happy when I managed to master this recipe for a full sized cake version. On the plus side, since it’s mixed in the baking dish, cleanup is minimal. I was hosting a dinner party recently and wanted something family style rather than just individual remakins. I’d wanted to make a proper cake but since I was so busy with the rest of the meal I didn’t have enough time to make anything for dessert. This was the perfect dish for the occasion; I put it in the oven just before we sat down to dinner and it was ready in time for dessert! I just gave it a few minutes on the counter before serving because it is too hot to eat right away. It came out just the right texture; cakey on the top and gooey at the bottom with almost a toffee like taste. And with some vanilla ice cream it was just divine!

RECIPE:
Servings: 6-8

Ingredients:
3/4 cup all purpose flour
1/2 cup granulated white sugar
1/2 unsweetened cocoa powder (divide into two 1/4 cup portions)
1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup cold milk for the base, another 1 1/4 cup hot milk for topping
3 tablespoons vegetable oil
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup semisweet chocolate chips
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F.
  2. In an 8″ baking dish, mix together the flour, white sugar, 1/4 cup cocoa powder, baking powder and salt until fully combined.
  3. Pour in the 1/2 cup milk and vegetable oil, and mix until a batter is formed. Spread evenly across the dish with a spatula.
  4. In a separate small bowl, mix the brown sugar, remaining 1/4 cup cocoa and the chocolate chips. Sprinkle evenly on top of the batter mixture.
  5. Heat the 1 1/4 cup milk in the microwave and mix the vanilla into it. Pour it gently over the cake batter ensuring not to disturb the dry cocoa mixture.
  6. Place the baking dish into the oven for 30-35 minutes, or just until the top appears dry and lightly firm.

Baker’s Note:
Serve either with ice cream or whipped cream

Leave a Reply

